BOOK CLUB: The Crooked Staircase

Click to rate this book!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Author: Dean Koontz
RRP: $32.99
ISBN: 978-1-4607-5653-9
Publication Date: 18 June 2018
Publisher: Harper Collins – AU
Copy: Courtesy of the publisher

The Crooked Staircase is the third Jane Hawk novel and one that I am super excited about. I can not wait to sink my teeth into this one and it is DEFINITELY next on my pile.

Jane Hawk is a rogue FBI agent chasing down the people at the top of a plot for world domination; taking out the people they think could be a threat and taking over those they think can be useful.

There are worse things than death, Jane has seen it first hand and she knows she doesn’t want to experience it. She knows she’s on borrowed time but she will never quit, never stop fighting the terrifying conspiracy that took the life of her husband and threatens the freedom and free will of millions.

Jane has been on the run across the country tracking pieces to the puzzle, always trying to uncover more information, and meeting some colourful characters along the way. It’s hard to find an ally when you are never sure who you can trust.

The Crooked Staircase promises to be a psychological roller coaster that is terrifying and fast paced with the bad guys masquerading as the good guys to hide in plain sight. I can’t wait to sink my teeth in.

I know that some of our readers have already read this one and loved it. We will all be eagerly awaiting The Forbidden Door, I’m sure.

Dean Koontz can be found on Facebook, Twitter and his Website.

The Crooked Staircase is available now through HarperCollins Australia, Angus & Robertson Bookworld, Booktopia and where all good books are sold.

Thanks to HarperCollins Australia 20 of our Beauty and Lace Club Members will be reading The Crooked Staircase so please be aware there may be spoilers in the comments below.

18 thoughts on “BOOK CLUB: The Crooked Staircase

  1. I am a long time far of Dean Koontz. I was fortunate to receive a copy of the first book in the Jane Hawk series “The Silent Corner” from Beauty and Lace. The day I finished it I went and bought the second book “The Whispering Room” then I struck it lucky and received the third book “The Crooked Staircase” which I am about to review.
    Like the others this was an excellent read. Some authors, when writing a series, pad the books out with continual references to previous books. Koontz avoids this, making it a stand alone story. However I would strongly recommend the series.
    The hero, Jane Hawk is an FBI agent, who has been suspended. She is fighting a lone fight against strong , mainly unknown forces, who are trying to control the world. It is a thrilling, believable story, that I could not put down. I was hoping this would be the final book, while also wishing that the series would continue.. At the end I discovered the latter to be true. “The forbidden Door will be released on September 11th, this year. I have already pre ordered it..

    If you enjoy suspense, stories that twist and turn, plots that thicken and change, evil characters that you want eliminated and warm , real characters that you wish were not eliminated, then you will love every line of this book.

  2. The Crooked Staircase by Dean Koontz is the third book in a series about rogue FBI agent Jane Hawk battling a conspiracy threatening the free will of millions, as well as trying to keep her son safe and hidden from their clutches
    It is an action packed thriller with many twists to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. The ending leaves you hanging out for the next book!

    Thanks to Beauty and Lace Book Club and Harper Collins for the opportunity to read and review this book.

  3. The Crooked Staircase is yet another cracking Jane Hawk adventure. She is such a fabulous smart, tough, seemingly fearless, determined character. The series has really got me in and I need to find out what happens in the end, – definitely a sign of a good book I reckon!

    The tangled web of dark, powerful and evil people is far wider and more extensive than previously thought, much like the sinister nano webs tormenting and torturing so many innocent people at the whim of the evil Arcadians.

    I look forward keenly to the next instalment coming out (hopefully soon!) and will certainly recommend The Crooked Staircase to friends and family looking for a gripping read. Thanks as always to Beauty and Lace, Dean Koontz and HarperCollins!

  4. ‘The Crooked Staircase’ is a follow on from Dean Koontz’s ‘The Whispering Room’ featuring rogue FBI agent Jane Hawk.

    Hawk is on a mission to bring down the leaders of a group of big wigs known as ‘Techno Arcadians’, influencials who use a computer program to create a ‘Hamlet list’ of people who need to be converted into controlled beings via brain inplants.

    I found this book a little more aggressive than the last, Jane Hawk came across as more hell bent on revenge and seeking out the leaders of the Arcadians, such as Govt official Booth Hendriksen.

    I also found some of the writing a little self indulgent on the author’s part, wordy paragraphs with big words that were in some instances overly descriptive.

    I did enjoy this book and the familiarity in the story line and characters but I really preferred The Whispering Room to be honest, I found it to be punchier and more fast paced.

  5. As a huge Dean Koontz fan I was thrilled to be given the chance to read and review The Crooked Staircase, the 3rd in the jane hawk series.
    I loved the Whispering Room but was a little put off by how long and slow parts of the book were, I felt the same with The Crooked Staircase, some parts were a bit hit and miss, however it’s a story that keeps you wanting more.
    The action is there, Jane is there wanting more answers and Travis (her son) is still with friends while Jane looks for the truth.

  6. The Crooked Staircase was just as thrilling if not more than The Whispering Room, it’s the third book in the Jane Hawk rogue FBI agent caught up in conspiracy while being fearless and determined to find the truth. I now have to buy the first book The Silent Corner in the series and read that plus so I have the set. Dean Koontz writes so brilliantly and how he manages to pack so much in without losing the story line and keep you hooked till the end is inspiring. I do recommend reading the first 2 before picking this beauty up it will be worth it especially if the story continues. Thank you Beauty and Lace for allowing me the honour to review such a thrilling story.

  7. The crooked staircase is a great book to read, I found it great to read and couldn’t put it down!
    Thank you for allowing me to review it!

  8. This is the third book in the series by Dean Koontz starring Jane Hawk, the former FBI agent seeking the answers to her husband’s death.
    I have read the previous two books so was able to continue the storyline quite easily. The book is action packed and the use of shorter chapters makes for the pace to be kept at a quick speed. Sometimes intense, I am looking forward to future Jane Hawk stories.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *